You Know You’re Addicted When…

cup_of_coffee_198136

“D’you want a coffee?”

“Mmmm, yes please.”

“Thought you were having a shower?”

“Um, yeah.”

Not saying I’m addicted.  It started with a glass of wine in the bath, maybe candles, loads of bubbles and champagne as advised by all the glossies.  Maybe a book or a newspaper in there too.   Then, aha, a little early for wine, maybe a coffee instead.

Marilyn Munroe

Marilyn with bubbles

Onto the shower.  Nothing better than a splendid coffee to greet me when I get out, dripping, huddled in a fluffy towel.  Then this morning…it happened…standing in the shower, water pouring over my head….I REACHED FOR THE MUG.

Zooey Deschanel/Elf

Not Alicia Sunday, but Zooey Deschanel in ‘Elf’

Oh no!  The bathrooms are still under renovation so there’s no shower screen to stop me.  As I stood there, sipping the hot, golden roasted bean liquid, blissful warm water running over me, I realise I may, just may, be a tinsy bit addicted to coffee.

Time to review the situation.  I used to sit in gridlock traffic in Cambridge on the school run and take a thermal mug filled with coffee to while away the time.  Look at the view, listen to Chris Evans, drive an inch or so.  I take the same flask on school runs in Portugal.  Why?  There’s no traffic jam and I have a thirty second turnabout after dropping off child one. I manage to down half the flask in the time it takes for daughter to clamber out the car. The other half is drunk luke warm an hour later as I drop off child number two.  Then home to a nice cup of….coffee.  That’s after the first two I’ve had before actually leaving the house.

Marilyn

I thought about my cool Pennsylvanian cousins’ Facebook posts.  Full of healthy, inspiring stuff.  Ayurvedic yoga, links to sites with recipes involving lettuce and carrot juice.  I think they have a point.  I think this may be the way to go.

fruit_photo_04_hd_picture_167509

So next time I drop off the kids I’ll be the one with the hot carrot juice, the lettuce biscuit and er….probably the bad back.

backbend_198076

Oh, one more thing, this is what I’m singing along to in the shower….

https://wellheadrecords.bandcamp.com/track/let-it-go-fibratus-fibrillation-mix

Of course!

…and its cheaper and healthier than a cup of coffee too.

Leave a Reply

