We Need to Talk About Kevin?…Reallyy?

Romeo and Juliet

Romeo and Juliet

Occasionally, when I was at school in the dark ages, we would be treated to a spot of TV in English class, usually at the end of term, as a treat.  It would always be a dull TV production of Shakespeare.  I was of an age when Baz Luhrmann or Kenneth Branagh hadn’t yet got their teeth into Shakespeare and film.  Well they were probably still at school too. Watching the same productions and thinking …. there’s a gap in the market here.

Much Ado About Nothing

Much Ado About Nothing

Imagine my surprise when my daughter, aged 13, came home from her Portuguese secondary school and told me they had been watching ‘Asterix’ in French class.  Well that sounded fun.  ‘Asterix’ with Portuguese subtitles.  Can’t complain about that.  Lucky girl.  “Yes, and in Physics and Chemistry we watched some film today called “….something, something Kevin”.

We Need to Talk About Kevin

We Need to Talk About Kevin

“What?  It wasn’t ‘We Need to Talk About Kevin’ by any chance?”

“Yeh, that was it.  I didn’t like it much.  In fact, I feel a bit depressed now”.

“I haven’t seen it, but there’s a reason why I haven’t seen the film or read the book.  What ARE the school thinking? Are you going to discuss it?”

“Do you want to know the ending?” said my daughter.

“Nope.  Well yes, I’d better know now”.

We need to talk about...school

We need to talk about…school

The ending was worse than I feared.  The film is a 15 certificate in the UK for a reason.  They are going to discuss the film in physics and chemistry tomorrow.  I wonder if they are going to talk about the velocity of an arrow as it flies through the air, or the chemically depressing effect a film like that has on the brain.  But not having seen the film I can’t comment with any authority because in my opinion I’m still too young to see it and always will be.

Must suggest Shakespeare at the next parent’s evening. “Much Ado About Nothing” maybe, which I’m sure is the reaction I’ll get if I complain.

5 thoughts on “We Need to Talk About Kevin?…Reallyy?

  1. It is a very clever book, but not suitable for a child, I haven’t seen the film.
    If the school is showing your daughter, We need to talk about Kevin when she is only 13,; maybe next year she could look forward to Clockwork Orange next year 😦

    Like

  2. …mmm I would be saying, we really need to talk about …. why the film should not be included in the science curriculum!!! I read the book and is not appropriate at all for your daughter . If it were me I would be making an appointment to discuss why it was shown .

    Like

Leave a Reply

